[vc_row width=”1″ us_bg_image_source=”media” us_bg_image=”6719″ us_bg_pos=”center left” us_bg_overlay_color=”_header_transparent_bg”][vc_column stretch=”1″ us_bg_overlay_color=”rgba(48,48,48,0.55)”][vc_column_text][us_text text=”Places to Visit” tag=”h2″ css=”%7B%22default%22%3A%7B%22color%22%3A%22%23ffffff%22%2C%22text-align%22%3A%22center%22%2C%22font-family%22%3A%22body%22%2C%22font-weight%22%3A%22900%22%2C%22text-transform%22%3A%22uppercase%22%2C%22font-style%22%3A%22normal%22%7D%7D”][/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_tta_tabs layout=”modern” stretch=”1″ title_weight=”700″][vc_tta_section title=”ZARASAI DISTRICT”][vc_column_text]Zarasas lake observation bridge and watershore of Zarasas lake
A unique architectural construction, which has no analogues in Lithuania. It was opened in 2011. Visitors can observe Zarasai lake panorama from a 17 metres high bridge. The stairway down leads to the path along the Zarasai lake shore and to the benches, where visitor may sit back and enjoy the scenery of the lake. The architect of the building is Š. Kiaunė. 1,4 km long shore connects the observation bridge with the Great island of lake Zarasas. During the warm season the inhabitants and visitors can enjoy the fountain, which is set on the shore, sit on bridges, use boat rental (those travelling by land here also can rent bicycles and a Segway), playground for children. There is a sculpture park set up on the lake shore. We suggest visiting the Zarasai lake shore during all the seasons, because this place can be an opportunity for an inhabitant or a traveller to welcome or say good bye to his favourite time of the year.
Cast iron obelisk was built in the memory of building St. Petersburg-Warsaw road in 1845. The cast iron memorial was 11,1 meters high, with massive coat of arms of Russian Empire and the inscription „Povelenijem gosudaria imperatora Nikolaja I sooružena nasipnaja doroga ot Kovno do Dinaburga. 193 versti. 1836 g.“ Author – Petr Šteinkeller. During the time of First Independent Republic, the coat of arms was removed and obelisk considered the monument of Independence, and the surrounding park was called the Independence Park.
Neo-Baroque style church was build on the highest place of the town. It is rectangular single nave building. Two towers erected on the main facade, between a wavy section. Upper parts of the four stage towers are octagonal with baroque style domes, globular superstructures and openwork crosses, the openings in the facade and towers are of different sizes and shapes. There are three altars in the church, characterized by orderly arrangement. They are decorated with artificial marble columns, broken and richly ornamented architraves and their superstructures. Above the main altar a semicircular window is cut, where the historic St. Virgin Mary painting “Madonna with Child” with inscribed Latin text is placed. Inscription in the silver table tells that the picture was brought here from Vilnius and hung here to remind its miraculous rescue from a huge fire.
The island of 44 hectares is the second largest island in Lithuania. It is the cradle of the Zarasai city, recreational area and the place of cultural and sporting events throughout the year.
This is an urban monument, the value of which is determined by the specific plan of the regular system of radial and circumferential streets, and one particularly highlighted feature with regard to the whole composition, Sėliai square, where all the radial streets meet. This is the only city in Lithuania with such city plan, among the other places of the 19th century planned according to the example of so-called Russian cities.
Beach of lake Zarasaitis was opened in 2014 May. The beach took a modern form by the architectural collective “a2sm” project. The beach of lake Zarasaitis with an open swimming pool is considered as the center of tourist attraction in Zarasai city. Many people remember summer in Zarasai because of leaps from the ten-meter springboard diving – unique in Lithuania. Now everyone can enjoy improvements in infrastructure of the springboard and the bridge surrounding the swimming pool.
Museum visitors can see the history of the region perpetuated in the old documents, fishing and hunting itemes and trophies, church literature, clothing, art works created by the fellow artist M. Šiletos, sacral sculptures, examples of the vintage fabrics and bedspreads, typical to this region. The museum is constantly running various temporary exhibitions, various cultural events, national holiday celebrations. Museum and Public Library operates in a progymnasium. This building of classical architecture was built in 1940’s.
”WAKE-IN” is a full circle track, 6 towers and a wakeboarding park, that is located on the wonderful lake Zarasas. The length of the track is almost 600 meters, and this is the largest wakeboarding park in the Baltic States. The track is open for both novices and professionals. On the track you can try wakeboarding, water skiing and kneeboard. Also, next to the park is a cafe, where you can have a lunch and drinks on hot summer day.
Visitor Centre is equipped with an educational exhibition about the Nature. Here scientists and specialists provide information about nature and cultural heritage objects, park landscape and biological diversity, which will really surprise even a very experienced traveller. The exhibition presents the terrain formed by glaciers and protected by Lithuanian laws, complex riverhead of the Šventoji (Holy) river, unique water fluctuations of Šventas (Holy) lake, elaborate coastline of Antalieptė sea. It contains collections of Lithuanian stones, the world’s minerals and gemstones. The exhibition will stimulate your desire to learn not only about the regional park, but the nature itself.
Visitor centre exhibition room is equipped with kiosks, video projectors, interactive stands. Sounds of nature are reproduced to achieve an immediate sense of the nature. On the monitors, which are present on the exposition wall, visitors can watch the video about the genesis of the Sartai Lake and learn about the symbol of the Regional Park – the Great crested grebe. Visitors will find detailed information about the natural and cultural heritage valuables present in the Regional Park. Separate stand with video footage is dedicated to the horse racing, a tradition which is followed in Dusetos for more than 100 years.
Šlyninkos Water Mill is a three centuries old unique technical heritage building with preserved authentic equipment. A lot can be done in the mill: it is possible to see the grain milling process, to buy grain, flour and locally baked bread. It is worth mentioning that the grain is shipped to the mill only from organic farms. A variety of necessary equipment is available in the mill: roller machine, groat mill, stone millstones, sack hoisting wheel. Bread and pancakes baked in the mill are regarded as culinary heritage.
Stelmužė oak is Lithuania natural monument, one of the oldest oak trees in Europe and the oldest tree in Lithuania. It is believed that the age of the oak is 1000 – 1500 or even 2000 years. Oak is 23 m in height, 3.5 m in diameter and 13 m in girth on the ground level (8-9 men are needed to fully embrace the trunk). Stelmužė oak – is a tree which has seen a lot during his life. Lithuanian dukes, crusaders, Knights of the Sword, Swedish armies have been here. Kaiser and Hitler armies passed by this place. A human skeleton and a French rifle found in the hollow suggests that it probably was a hiding place of one of the Napoleonic soldiers, when he was on his way from Russia.
Antazavė Manor Park was established at the end of eighteenth century. It is located between the manor and the lake in descending terraces, occupies an area of 5.5 ha. In front of the palace there is a parterre preserved to this day with paths and green spaces with a specific geometric plan. Four ponds and the Žalvės lake in the lower terrace decorate the park. Antazavė orphanage and secondary boarding school were established in the territory of the park after WWII. Next to the school a square with geometric plan, rich with plants was set up. Eight introduced species of trees and shrubs are growing in in the landscape part of the park, and even 35 near the school. Species include Gray Firs, Macedonian and mountain pines, Japanese magnolias, Western Redcedar of various decorative forms, Canadian Hemlock, nest-shaped simple spruce, decoratively shaped Mountain Elm. Ornate flower gardens and recreational areas are set up in front of the school and in parterre part of the manor. The canal of the park consists of local tree species: plain maple, small-leaved lime common ash, mountain elm, plain oak, common elm. School administration takes care about environmental management and maintenance. In 1986 the park was registered as local natural monument.
The old Tiltiškės watermill was 150 kilometers away from the current one. Besides pair of simple grains, worked rough full wool felt, sawmill. Mill had its own plant providing electricity for residents of Tiltiškės village and Salakas town.
At the present time:
The main and most original part of museum – the authentic grain elevator and original stained-glass windows. Major part of exposition contains of vintage radio devices: from oldest detector radio, one of the first sound storage devices – gramophone record, magnetola produced by Kaunas radio factory.
Visitors of mill will be able to book place for Your party, events with live music, enjoy pleasures of saunas and flowing water.
Salakas cognitive trail is 5 kilometers length circle route, which represents historical Salakas town and its surrounding areas.
Trail‘s main arrows will lead via wooden path by Luodis shore, all the way to the watchtower. From the watchtower You will be able to observe panoramic view of lake Luodis, comfortably watch water and forest birds.
Halfway cognitive trail – beloved by families Gražutė regional park center of visitors, where “Sea museum“ of Vida Žilinskienė, interactive exposition of park’s nature and attractive exposition of Salakas region etnography. Center of visitors is applied for visitors with movement disabilities. Here also You can purchase ticket of visitor of Protected areas.
Following signs all the way the trail, You will visit interesting Salaks tatar and town‘s old cemetery, cherished town‘s center, memorial museum of first teacher in Salakas Antanas Poderys, will see highest stone church in Lithuania Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Sorrows. Park‘s visitors have a great chance to see a witness of latest ice age – Salakas‘ oz.
Velikuškės II (an Island) castle mound stands on the eastern end of Bradesiai (also known as Stintinės) Gulf shore, between the lake Zalvė and stream Zalvė, on the left bank of the stream. The mound is surrounded by water of the three sides, the fourth side – wet spot between the hills, so the mound is also known as the Island. The mound until now remained cultural layer, in which was found fragments of plastic tie ceramic, iron slag, animal bones and stone axes, on the slope of mound was found marks of a settlement.
Pakačinių mound, also known as Dembai, stands in Antazavė pinewood. P. Tarasenka explored several canal (30 m2) on the outskirts of platform and discovered to 1.5 m thick cultural layer5 in 1933. A mound of hatched ceramics culture was used since 1st millennium BC till the middle of the 1st millennium AD.
Tower of Slaves is a small, high rectangular building with thick walls and openings in the upper part. It is built of rough stone, brick, lime and clay mortar in the Stelmužė park, near Padvarinės (Stelmužė) lake. In XVII-XIX centuries there was a manor house, originally owned by Germans Fölkersahms, and later by the Tsar’s courtiers Valujevs, who were known for their cruelty. In the built tower they used to punish and imprison serfs for the night, and at the day the serfs were driven out to work again. Tower of slaves served as a prison. The thickness of tower walls is 0.75 m. The building is renovated and added to the list of architectural monuments of the seventeenth century.
More places of interest can be found on the website of Zarasai tourism and buisiness information centre.[/vc_column_text][/vc_tta_section][vc_tta_section title=”UTENA DISTRICT”][vc_column_text]Utena local lore museum
The building, in which the museum is located, is the second oldest building in Utena town. Exhibits of archeology, history and ethnography, photography, literature and art are collected and kept in the museum. Exhibitions of folk art, photography, as well as works of professional artists and pupils are organized there. New and so close, unexpected and familiar – Utena city historical exposition in the local lore museum welcomes its visitors! Maybe you are interested in the past of Utena and everyday life of its townsfolk… Smart technologies will enable you to wander around the historical Utena and present town… Utena local lore museum is a place to train your brain, experience good emotions and have purposeful recreation. Do not pass by, you have to visit it!
The aim of the exposition of the Museum of Struggles for Freedom is to make an attempt to learn the history of not only the entire Lithuania, but also the past of European countries through a glimpse on one corner of the country. Oppression of totalitarian regimes in the Old Continent in the twentieth century have become common (author of the idea Dr. Norbertas Černiauskas, designer Skirmantė Vaitkevičiūtė). The exhibition was prepared following historical contrast principle, and it consists of 5 parts, revealing core events of Utena region and Lithuania from 1940 to 1965, comparing them with life behind the Iron Curtain. Exposition tells and collates experiences of totalitarian regimes in the following topics: Split, determining the war / War, defeating the evil, Forced war / War for freedom, New serfdom / Socially responsible Europe, New slavery / Human rights in Europe, Alone / United.
The homestead with this exposition is located near Utena city – you can easily find it by driving to Sudeikiai and stopping in Sirutėnai town. 2015 From Utena to Sirutėnai there was a bicycle path, so you can visit the exposition while traveling on this vehicle. Arrived surroundings and a pre-war collection will meet you on arrival. It is full of various utensils, utensils, instruments whose use the story tells the owner of the homestead. The exposition is for those who want to better understand the everyday life of pre-war farmers.
The first information about Strazdai village is from 1798. The people in this village are known for their love of song and beautiful woven fabrics. Ethnographers have identified and collected over 200 songs from this area. There is a textile loom standing in each house. The pretty textured fabrics still decorate the cottages of this village.
XV century Utena Manor was located near the Krašuona River. 19th-20th c. In the first half of the 19th century, the manor was ruled by Balsevicius, and they built the red-eyed palace, farm buildings, and planted gardens. 1918 Saules Gymnasium was established in the palace. 1931 The former manor house was heavily rebuilt, the pillars were destroyed, the neo-baroque décor was destroyed and the second floor of the building emerged instead of the attic. After the Second World War there was the 1st Secondary School. At present, the building of the old manor belongs to the Saules gymnasium.
The plan of Utena garden implemented in 2009 has opened a beautiful public space at the confluence of Krašuona and Vyžuona streams. The main entrance to the town garden is emphasized by a symbolic decorative accent. From J. Basanaviciaus str., which is 2.5 m above the formed town garden, wide and comfortable stairs with an intermediate platform lead down to it, which provides an overview of the central part of the garden. From here paths branch throughout the garden, and the main path over the new bridge lead to the house of the Riflemen. This path is the main artery of the town garden composition and the landmark that separates the meadow formed on the left bank of the Krašuona designed for festive gatherings of townspeople from the space for children to play.
Until recently, the bank of Vyžuona River in Utena was just a marshy, bushy grove, but now it is a nurtured and attractive park, named after the river flowing through it. Vyžuona Park is the largest park in Utena. Utena residents and guests love to go to the park which is equipped with a 2.5 km long track for rollerblading, cycling, roller skiing. In winter, it turns into a skiing track. Seven park bridges over the Utenėlė and Vyžuona rivulets fascinate romance lovers. The park has paved walkways and benches; it is well lit and constantly receives many visitors.
It is a boulder with a height of 3.20 m, a length of 2.47 m, a width of -1.55 m. An image of a fairy on a boulder. The legend tells that there were fairies gathered in this stone, covered with strange cloaks. Their feet are stony. Therefore, he is called Laumė stone.
The height of the beautiful stronghold is 32.5 m. Trunk volume at 1.3 m height – 5.4 m. Age – about 450 years. Inside his trunk, from the ground, there is a large empty space that will accommodate 5 to 6 adults. During the war, the inhabitants hid the grain, the fat, the other property, even the sheep. Oak has been proclaimed by the Ministry of Environment of the Republic of Lithuania as a state protected botanical heritage object since 2008.
The hillfort (Castle of Utenis, the Great Hillfort) dates back to the beginning of the 1st millennium BC – 2nd cent. and the beginning of the 14-15th cent. It is situated on a separate hill on the left bank of river Utenėlė. It is supposed that in the 13th cent. the castle of the Duke Daumantas of Nalšia was here, by which the settlement was established and it was the beginning of Utena town. In 1433 the castle was burnt down by the Livonian Order. The earliest fortifications of the hillfort were two rows of wooden 8-18 cm thick posts. The fence was woven from branches and it was repeatedly burnt and repaired. Inside it, the edge of the site was fortified by clay and a 0.8 m wide cobble. This stratum dates back to the 1st millennium BC. From 6 to 8 m long buildings of square post construction with rounded fireplaces were on the edges of the site. At the beginning of the 1st millennium the wooden fence fortifications were replaced with a 1 m high tamped clay earthwork. In the 14th cent. the now visible earthwork was tamped from clay using stones and logs and the sleeted clay wooden defensive wall of post construction was built on it. During the investigations over 800 findings have been excavated: iron arrows for an arbalest and bow, broad axe, pins, awls, knives-sickles, scythes and parts of spurs, cylinder locks, frizzens, buckle, brass pins, bracelets, hooks, Roman copper coin of the 2nd cent. and silver coin of Jogaila of the end of the 14th cent., around 10 thousand of shivers of lined, smooth, polished and clay ceramics, over 7 thousand of animal bones, etc.
The hillfort dates back to the 1st millennium – the middle of the 15th cent. It is situated on the southern shore of Lake Tauragnas. The eastern part of the site was probably the basic place in the castle, and the western part was an outwork. At the western, southern and eastern foot there is a foot settlement on the area of 4 ha where a clay spindle, lined, rough, smooth and clay ceramics, clay plaster, iron slags have been found. Tauragnai Castle was on the hillfort. It was mentioned on the 14th of February 1373 when the army of the Livonian Order, which devastated the land, stayed by the castle. At the beginning of February 1433 the castle was burnt down by the Livonian Order.
Old people tell that at one time a great oak grew on the top of the hill and a priest lived in its hollow and the vestal virgins attended the fire. When Christianity was founded, a church was built on the top of the hill but some time later it disappeared and now it is inside the hill. Legend has it that one day a brave man looked into that hole more carefully and saw a derelict church with ruined altars in the depths of the hill and dusted organ was playing inside the church. At exactly midnight of St. John’s Day the hillfort opens for just one second. Those who have good eyes can see the church and playing organ.
Archaeological site dating from the first millennium. 17th century At the end of the 19th century, the first Daugail church was built on the mound, and the cemetery was located in its cemetery. The dead were buried on the top of the mound and on the slopes. 1990. decorated wooden cross on the mound in honor of the first Daugailiai church.
More places of interest can be found on the website of Utena tourism information centre.[/vc_column_text][/vc_tta_section][vc_tta_section title=”DAUGAVPILS DISTRICT”][vc_column_text]Daugavpils Fortress
Daugavpils Fortress is a unique cultural and historical architectural monument of national importance with a total area of 150 ha. Daugavpils Fortress is also considered as the last bastion-type fortress in the world that has been preserved without any significant alterations since the early 19th century. The fortress from the bird view reminds the shape of a sun or a star but some find relations with a turtle or even a bat. This particular fortification system’s shape was created especially to avoid so-called “dead zones” around the fortress. Accordingly, the enemy can be easily noticed regardless of its location and the territory can be controlled effectively at the same time. It is supposed that 85% of all fortifications remained in its initial condition until nowadays. All these aspects make the Daugavpils Fortress one of the most popular tourist attractions in Daugavpils.
Here, in the artificially created jungles, visitors can see spotted pythons, spectacled caimans bathing in the sun, red koi carps swimming in the ponds, playful macaques and sugar gliders jumping in the lianas and other swimming, whistling, crawling, hopping and flying tropical creatures. Children can stroke a furry rabbit, play with touching guinea-pigs and feed exotic fishes in the pond.
Daugavpils Regional Studies and Art Museum is one of the oldest museums in Latgale, founded in 1938. Located at 8 Rigas Street, in a magnificent building constructed in 1883. The facades are decorated with coloured glazed tiles, and the entrances have openwork metal roofs covered by glass. Each entrance is guarded by two sculptures of lions. The museum has the room of the Daugavpils painter Leonid Baulin. The museum offers cultural, historical and nature displays. More than 85000 items are stored at the museum. The funds of the museum are rich in various collections of archaeological, ethnographical and art items, as well as of Latgale ceramics and documents, collections of insects and herbarium.
- exhibits that allow to look at things from a different and unusual point of view;
- exciting and educational activities;
- unusual experiments;
- guided tours for school classes and families;
- entertaining and educational festive parties.
Vecsaliena (Chervonka) castle was built in 1870 in the Neogothic style and is located in a bend of the park, which was created in the 19th century. This picturesque building with a dynamic and complex composition of the volume is a real fairy-tale castle. The open-planed park of 3 ha with 14 species of exotic trees is located near the castle and the building of the estate.
Lielborne Manor is the only manor complex in the territory of the Nature Park „Daugavas loki“. There is the old castle, probably built in the 18th century, as well as the new castle built in the classical style in the first half of the 19th century. The most recent part of Lielborne Manor’s House was rebuilt in the end of the 19th century and at the beginning of the 20th century. The Manor house, which is a typical summer cottage-style monument in Augszeme, is special in its design and decoration, which gives a unique artistic impression.
If You dare to climb on the tower which is 21 meters high, a picturesque view on the Rozalishku bend of Daugava river will definitely inspire You. Rozalishku bend was depicted on the banknote of 10 lats (LVL).
Nature Park “Daugavas Loki” was created to preserve the unique natural complexes, natural, cultural and historical values and little transformed landscapes of the ancient valley of the Daugava on the site of Naujene to Kraslava. The bends of the ancient valley of the Daugava are considered to be the oldest geological formations in Latvia. The Nature Park “Daugavas Loki” as part of Augsdaugava protected landscapes area was recognized as the NATURA 2000 territory in 2004, but in 2011 this park was included in the Latvian National UNESCO World Heritage List.
Slutiski Scarp is the biggest outcrop of Quaternary rock on the territory of Latvia which is located in Daugava river’s valley. Its height is 40.9 m, length – 400 m and slope angle is 38 degrees. Numerous rare and protected plant species are can be found in adjoined pinewood: Ajuga piramidalis L. (bugle), Pulsatilla patens (L.) Mill. (eastern pasqueflower), Pulsatilla pratensis (L.)Mill., Polypodium vulgare L., Chimaphila umbellata (L.) W.P.C.Barton, Orthilia secunda (L.)House syn. Pyrola secunda L.; Ramischia secunda (L.)Garcke (sidebells wintergreen). An outstanding view on Daugava river valley – Daugavsargi bend, opens from the Slutiski Scarp.
The park in Medumi is located near Medumi lake. In the park you can see a great variety of plantation – ashes, oaks, lindens, elms, scarlet dogberries, Daugava hawthorns, European spindles, balsam firs, European larches, Colorado sharp spruces etc. Medumi Park is a popular place for relaxation – this is place for fishing and relaxation on the beach of Medumi lake, which is also available for people with reduced mobility. In the park is located 2 km long trail, which crosses the “Bridge of Love” and runs along the First World War trenches and the basement of the manor.
The Svente walking trail is located several kilometers from Jaunsvente park, runs along Sventes lake. The network of walking paths with benches, rest and picnic places, gazebos, footbridges, viewing platforms and other infrastructure elements have been reconstructed on the landscaped trail. A parking for cars has been created.
More places of interest can be found on the website of Daugavpils tourism information centre.